Switches without ground


  #1  
Old 12-19-05, 02:33 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sonoma
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switches without ground

Why to some single pole switches have a grounding screw and some do not? Is there any problem using the switches that do not have a grounding screw?
 
  #2  
Old 12-19-05, 02:37 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
The switches without a grounding screw may be the self-grounding type. These are designed for use in metal boxes and are grounded through the metal box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-05, 03:02 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sonoma
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The boxes are plastic. Does this mean I should replace the swicthes that do not have a grounding screw?
 
  #4  
Old 12-19-05, 03:10 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are referring to older switches in existing circuits, then they were not required way back then to have a ground connection.
New switches must be grounded, either by a ground screw connection, or self grounding via the yolk to a metal box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: