Switches without ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-05, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sonoma
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switches without ground

Why to some single pole switches have a grounding screw and some do not? Is there any problem using the switches that do not have a grounding screw?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-05, 03:37 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The switches without a grounding screw may be the self-grounding type. These are designed for use in metal boxes and are grounded through the metal box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-05, 04:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sonoma
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The boxes are plastic. Does this mean I should replace the swicthes that do not have a grounding screw?
 
  #4  
Old 12-19-05, 04:10 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are referring to older switches in existing circuits, then they were not required way back then to have a ground connection.
New switches must be grounded, either by a ground screw connection, or self grounding via the yolk to a metal box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: