Wiring a hot water heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-05, 05:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 84
Wiring a hot water heater

Please advise what type of wire to run from the junction box to the hot water heater. Have 10/2 coming from the breaker to the junction box directly above the heater.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-05, 05:27 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
If that 10/2 is protected at the panel by a 2 pole 30A circuit breaker (or fuses), then 10/2 from the junction box to the heater.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-05, 05:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Your should probably use type MC or BX flexible armored cable for protection.
 
  #4  
Old 12-19-05, 05:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 84
Yes I have a 30 amp breaker. I thought there was a specific wire to run from junction box like 10/2 thnn or something like that
 
  #5  
Old 12-19-05, 05:48 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
Us the 10/2 as recommended,armored cable is a good idea for added protection of the wires.
 
  #6  
Old 12-19-05, 06:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
I like these waterproof "whips". Makes for a very neat installation.

Are you putting any kind of shutoff at the waterheater? I installed a 30A double pole switch at mine so I can easily shut it off without a trip to the breaker box (other end of the house). If I had it to do over again, I'd use one of those disconnect boxes for AC units instead.
 
  #7  
Old 12-19-05, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 84
I have seen the whips, but they seem to long. I only need about 3 or 4 feet to the heater. No cutoff, the main panel is only room away.
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-05, 05:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
In some areas it's required to have a switch within sight of the water heater. Also in some areas you have to "protect" the NM (I assume that's what you're using). I don't use NM in my area, so I have to use a piece of flexibly conduit.
 
  #9  
Old 12-20-05, 05:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
Also, the watertight whip can be cut if it's too long. I don't know how many AC installations I've seen where the installer thought it looks cool if the whip is 3 times longer then necessary. Perpahs they wanted it to "whip" in the wind.
 
  #10  
Old 12-20-05, 10:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 84
I found the right size whip in 6/2. I guess thats ok since I assume you can always go larger
 
  #11  
Old 12-20-05, 12:19 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,337
Originally Posted by BrentTurner
I found the right size whip in 6/2. I guess thats ok since I assume you can always go larger
Yes, you can upsize to #6 wire however you need to get wire nuts rated for #6. I think Buchannan Grays or Blues Wingtwist are okay for a #6 to #10 splice; look closely at the wirenut packages in the store. They will have chart in fine print somewhere that lists the combinations of wire sizes for each size of wirenut.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'