Need Subpanel Help

Old 12-20-05, 10:47 AM
sbacresdad
Visiting Guest
Thumbs up Need Subpanel Help

Hello all,

I am really impressed by how helpful thre regular posters are in this forumn, and I think I am going to have to put your good will to test.

I am an electrical rookie. Done my fair share of circuit wiring, but I have to tackle the install of a subpanel in one of my outbuildings.

Here is the situation. I have a 60 ft quonset with the original panel at one end, and a shop area at the other. I have wired a bunch of circuits at the other end, and want to install a subpanel instead of a bunch of long runs (obviously).

Here is what I have:

1. Original Panel is at least 20 yrs old. Not much on it.
its 100 amp load center - square D and says cat #8 on it.

It is grounded into the ground with a wire and rod.

There is no draw hardly off this panel. It has one outlet, and a switch
and light circuit.

It was probably only used to plug in a tractor.

2. At the other end, I have a new Siemens subpanel eql 8100D - 100 amp.
It has 8 1" slots in it.

For circuits, I have.
3 circuits with lights, and general outlets
1 dedicated single outlet circuit (table saw/mig welder)
1 dedicated 240 outlet (stick welder) - its wired with 6/3 wire.

3. What I would like to do.

A. I would like to add a 70 amp breaker to the main box (?)

is 70 amps normal, can you get a breaker in that size ?
should I use a 100 amp breaker instead ?
any other advise ?

B. Run 60 ft of wire to the new subpanel (in conduit)

What kind of wire, and how many conductors ?
Exactly how do I wire it at both ends the old and new locations
I literally need to be told what color to what part of the panel (sorry)
how do I handle grounding. The main panel has a ground installed.

C. Energize new panel without killing myself.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-05, 11:06 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by sbacresdad
Exactly how do I wire it at both ends the old and new locations