...220/240 international plug

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-23-05, 02:41 PM
nataliem
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
...220/240 international plug

Okay, bear with me, this is important! I purchased this enormous sauna/shower/jacuzzi that I later found out was made in China. The steam generator says 220/240 but there is a regular household plug on it (110v). I started by wiring it to 11o, but no luck, not enough power. Now my "electrician" wants to cut off the plug and wire it direct because he says the plug can't handle 220v. Why would they put that plug on there then? This is no cheesey machine.
There is a box of sorts between the plug and motor with what appears to be a fuse or similar to a gfi. Help before this guy blows up my tub, burns down my house or takes me to the cleaners!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-23-05, 02:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,677
Contact the supplier.
It doesn't sound like this unit has UL approval or it would have the correct plug on it.
 
  #3  
Old 12-23-05, 02:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You should not be using this device in the US. It sounds very much like you bought this from someone who illegally wired it to "make it work" at their residence.

If you bought this new from a reputable dealer then return it.

If you bought this used from someone then I suggest that you chalk this up as a lesson learned and get rid of it.
 
  #4  
Old 12-23-05, 03:10 PM
nataliem
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I bought it new. From what the company tells me, China is 220/240v thus the steam generator. It supposedly was converted for American use. I am not willing at this point to uninstall this monster so any suggestions would be great.
So what if you came across an appliance that said 220/240, but it didn't have a cord.Would you wire it direct or put on a 220v plug?
 
  #5  
Old 12-23-05, 03:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I'm not sure about China, but the 220/240 used in Europe is NOT the same as the 220/240 we use here. It might or might not work here. Wheter or not is safe is an entirely different story.

I suggest that you contact the manufacturer and get the specs on the motor.

Good luck.
 
  #6  
Old 12-23-05, 03:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Is your quote electrician unquote a real electrician?

You have presented us a story that makes no sense. That could be because some idiot got his hands on it. Or it could be because there are important factors that are not evident to us because we cannot see it.

Is there any information on the web about this specific unit that we might look at? Try googling the manufacturer and model number to see what you can find.

Can you give us any further information that came with the unit?
 
  #7  
Old 12-23-05, 05:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,677
Originally Posted by nataliem
I bought it new. From what the company tells me, China is 220/240v thus the steam generator. It supposedly was converted for American use. I am not willing at this point to uninstall this monster so any suggestions would be great.
So what if you came across an appliance that said 220/240, but it didn't have a cord.Would you wire it direct or put on a 220v plug?
What does the supplier say about installation of this unit? They should have some instructions or installation manual? Does it have a UL sticker on it?
 
  #8  
Old 12-24-05, 12:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Yuo will have to remove it if it is not approved for use where you are. A real electrician probably wouldn't hook it up.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes