Hot tub wiring questions

Old 12-29-05, 04:46 PM
az350x
Visiting Guest
Hot tub wiring questions

Greetings- I'm a total noob here. I just bought a used hot tub. It's 220, and I need to add 220 to my box, and run underground about 60' to the spa.

How many amp breaker do I need?

What AWG wire should I use?

There's four wires coming from the spa. I had a guy give an off-the-cuff estimate for doing it, and he quoted $600. Seems like I should be able to do it myself for subsantially less. He did say that I needed a "Square D QO" breaker, and they're like $170. Does that make sense to anyone? I've replaced a breaker or two in my box before, but never added one. Can anyone offer some insight?

Thanks for the help.
Tony

Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-05, 05:17 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Spa wiring is not generally a DIY job, even for a very seasoned electrical DIYer. The problem is that there is a whole section of the electrical code just for spas. It has many rules that don't apply to anything else in your house, and are not in most peoples' body of knowledge.

If you really want to do this yourself, visit your local public library. Go to the reference section and read all of article 680 of the National Electrical Code. Proceed only if you completely understand all that you read there.

Read this too.

Old 12-29-05, 05:38 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
hot tub wiring questions

Like John said, you may not be able to handle this as a DIY project. The $600 quote you got is not out of line. You have to realize the box for the outside will probably run $150, the GFCI to install will run $50-60, the cable alone (60'!!!) will run $100 (and that doesn't count the cable from your breaker box to the outside box), so if the rest is labor, digging a code trench, etc, you could easily go through $500-600.
I've done it many times, and the code is very specific on things that don't even remotely resemble anything inside your house.
Good luck.