Ground wire in plastic switch box

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-31-05, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground wire in plastic switch box

Let's say you have a single switch mounted in a plastic switch box. If you bring a switch loop down to it you end up with a free ground wire that doesn't go to anything. Theres no box to attach it to and the switch doesn't have a ground lug. What are you supposed to do with that ground wire?

Steve
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-31-05, 08:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,948
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
Replace the switch with one that has a ground screw. Connect the ground wire to the ground screw.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-06, 01:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Damn you and your logic. I was afraid that was the right answer. Back to the hardware store, I guess.

Thanks.

Steve
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: