Aluminum 220 to Copper 220?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-06, 03:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 33
Aluminum 220 to Copper 220?

We need to extend the wiring for our electric range. My husband bought a 3 ft section of copper wiring and a junction box. When he went to connect the two, he found that the orginal cable is aluminum (which we know is okay for 220), but wants to know if it's okay to wire nut the aluminum to the copper permanently. Thanks!
PS Running new wiring to the circuit breaker box is difficult.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-06, 03:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,426
You will not find twist-on wires nuts rated for use with AL in the size you need. You need a connector rated for both copper (CU) and aluminum (AL).
Polaris connectors are the easiest solution for you. They are a little pricey but save the labor and mess of insulating the splice with tape.

Your junction box will also need to be sized for the number and sizes of wires in it.

http://www.polarisconnectors.com/constructioninfo.html
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-06, 03:38 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
If this circuit is 3-wire with no ground you cannot legally make it longer.
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-06, 03:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You really should replace this circuit all the way back to the panel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'