generator transfer switch

Old 01-07-06, 09:04 AM
generator transfer switch

I bought a briggs and stratton 12 kw standby generator
and a reliance 150 amp main panel with a built in manual transfer switch.

problem L1 N L2 G ==== 220 1 amp circuit that is connected to the gen. circuit board to charge the battery and when utility power is lost the generator will start.
i figure i will need 2 main breakers. I will have to tap off inside the meter can using tap connectors one to the main for the whole house and one just for that 220 1 amp circuit.
question do they make an outdoor bolt in main.
any suggestions. any links. I dont have room to mount 2 panels unless i move a bunch of shelving.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-06, 09:17 AM
I don't think you want to use a manual transfer switch with an automatic start generator.

I am no expert with generators, but I don't think you want your generator automatically starting until and unless you are present to make the manual switchover. You wouldn't want your generator to run for hours or days with no load, such as would happen if you weren't home to flip the transfer switch. I think you need to do one of two things:

Get an automatic transfer switch, which will allow wiring to auto start the generator.

OR

Use your existing generator but turn off or bypass the automatic start feature and manually start it when you need it.

Old 01-07-06, 09:24 AM
my problem is connecting that circuit.
either way I need the circuit connected

Old 01-07-06, 09:26 AM
I believe that an automatic transfer switch has the proper wiring as part of the switch.

Old 01-07-06, 09:32 AM
i need two mains.
one to transfer the power and the other to inform the gererator.

Old 01-07-06, 03:36 PM
I don't think you do.

I think that an automatic transfer switch will have the capabilities to do this, and with a manual transfer switch that you don't want to inform he generator of anything.

Old 01-07-06, 04:12 PM
please read my first post.