wireing a doorbell?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-06, 06:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: santa monica
Posts: 118
wireing a doorbell?

hi,
anyone know about wiring a doorbell?

do transformers go bad?

i bought a new doorbell, but it still doesn't work. there's current that runs to it, and the switch works. the only other element in the circuit seems to be the transformer.

if i replace it will the doorbell work? its probably 20 years old. i think its 18v.

thanks,
max
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-06, 06:52 PM
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
I bought a big bell that has a long string on it and it works great no wires no batteries just ring a ding ding

here is the link

http://www.mainegathering.com/bells.htm
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-06, 07:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
Transformers certainly go bad. Switches go bad more commonly. If you understand the wiring schematic of the circuit, troubleshooting is fairly straightforward.
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-06, 07:23 PM
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
if i read your post correctly you have power as in 24 volt going to it and it doesnt work. did you buy a 120 volt bell. do you have 120v to the transformer. do you have 25 volts comming out of the transformer if you hook it up directly to the transformer do it work you may have bought a defective bell.
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-06, 09:34 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,294
You say that you have current running to the door bell. How did you test to find the current? Also, is it an actual bell or what is called a door chime and goes ding-dong. Please give us a little more to go on.
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-06, 06:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: santa monica
Posts: 118
i am trying to fix the "DOOR CHIME" the two toned bell.

i bought a 16v transformer to replace the old one (which was 16v too) and i also bought a volt meter.

the transformer seems to be working becuase the volt meter reads 17 volts.

do the door chimes usually need 24v?

i'm about to test the switch.
 
  #7  
Old 01-08-06, 07:35 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,294
16 volts should do it. Post back if you have further problems.
 
  #8  
Old 01-08-06, 08:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Voltage isn't the only important specification of the transformer. You also need to check the "va" (volt-amp) rating. Different chime units need different number of va. A very simple chime (i.e., an $8 chime) needs about 10va. Two chimes need 20va. Some of the more deluxe chimes might need more. Make sure your transformer can supply the number of va that your chime(s) need.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes