Ground Fault Outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-06, 07:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground Fault Outlets

We recently had the kitchen remodeled, and had the outlets removed from the walls, and a power strip run along under the top cabinets. It is not GFI. Can I change the circuit breaker in the box to bring this to code?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-06, 08:19 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The brief answer is, that a GFCI circuit breaker will offer the same protection as GFCI receptacles.
There are lots of other things to consider, to determine whether it would bring the kitchen up to code. For example, are there (2) 20A circuits? Are the receptacle no more than 20 inches above the countertop? What else is on the receptacle circuit other than kitchen receptacles, etc.
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-06, 09:32 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You said that you "had" the kitchen remodeled, implying that it was done by professionals. During any kitchen remodel, you must bring the kitchen up to today's codes. Because the kitchen is the most electrically regulated room in your house, there are hundreds of such codes. But the people who did the kitchen should have ensured that all those codes were followed. Do you have some reason to doubt if they properly followed all codes? Are you sure that the power strip isn't already GFCI protected? It might be, even if it doesn't look like it.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: