special purpose receptacles

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-06, 12:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,151
special purpose receptacles

I have a 240v aircompressor in the garage that's on wheels. I'd like to be able to plug it in to any of 2 or 3 receptacles. Is there a code violation to parallel a number of 240v receptacles?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-06, 12:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 144
SOP for equipment on wheels.

No code violation.
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-06, 05:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,151
BF: wilco and thanks for the quick reply.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-06, 05:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Bolted Fault
SOP for equipment on wheels.

No code violation.

what is SOP.
cause i have a 50 amp breaker with one outlet.in my new garage and i tapped into that and extended that keeping the existing one. for using my 220 heater.
so that is ok. but i asked my nephew who is an electrician and he said as long as there are other terminals to attach the ongoing wires. but on mine there wasn;t so i had to piggy back them in the same screw clamp.
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-06, 07:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
davidmmm...

If that receptical for your 220 heater is anything other than a 50A receptical, you created a code violation...and I doubt your 220 heater uses a 50A receptical (if so, that's a warm garage!).

If I recall correctly:
15A recepticals can be fed by 15A or 20A* breakers
20A recepticals can ONLY be fed by 20A breakers
30A recepticals can ONLY be fed by 30A breakers
50A recepticals can be fed by 40A or 50A breakers

*A single 15A receptical must be fed by a 15A breaker, but a duplex, or multiple simplex 15A recepticals can be fed by a 20A breaker

This would not apply anywhere outside the USA.
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-06, 07:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
davidmmm, tell us your situation and we can tell you how to do this correctly. What you have done is not up to code and is unsafe.

You cannot extend a 50 amp 240 volt circuit to other size (amperage) receptacles. That's no good. You also cannot place more than one wire under a screw terminal.
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-06, 11:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 60
I thought you could only have one outlet on any circuit 30 amps and over. Or am I confusing this with some other rule?

Steve
 
  #8  
Old 01-12-06, 11:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
There is no such rule in general. It is, however, usually true for circuits feeding fixed appliances. But in this thread (well, at least in the first part of the thread before we launched off into the Neverland), we're not talking about a fixed appliance, so this is SOP (standard operating procedure).
 
  #9  
Old 01-12-06, 09:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 60
Huh. I wonder where I got that idea. I was pretty sure I read that somewhere. And it didn't have anything to do with fixed appliance circuits. Thanks for the info.

Steve
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'