Is this possible? 2 circuits on one switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-06, 09:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21
Is this possible? 2 circuits on one switch

I have 3 basement lights on 1 circuit controlled by one light switch . So if the breaker goes- all my basemnt lights go out.
Is it possible to feed another circuit to one of these lights and have it controlled by the same light switch?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-14-06, 10:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Theoretically, you could use a 220V switch (one circuit on one side, the other on the other side). However, code mandates that circuit breakers feeding two circuits tied to the same yoke (the switch is a yoke) must have their handles tied so that if one trips, they both trip. Thus, you still have the breaker tripping leaving you totally in the dark.

Whats wrong with two switches in the same box? That would allow you to control the amount of light in the room.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-06, 11:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21
Originally Posted by chirkware
Theoretically, you could use a 220V switch (one circuit on one side, the other on the other side). However, code mandates that circuit breakers feeding two circuits tied to the same yoke (the switch is a yoke) must have their handles tied so that if one trips, they both trip. Thus, you still have the breaker tripping leaving you totally in the dark.

Whats wrong with two switches in the same box? That would allow you to control the amount of light in the room.
There is already a single lightswitch box drywalled in place. Was trying to avoid tearing open the wall to install a double lightswitch box.

All the lights and wiring to the lights are easily accessible tho.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-06, 11:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
You don't have to tear apart the wall for the two gang box. You remove the old box, enlarge the hole, and install an "old work" box. These boxes have tabs that catch the back of the drywall to secure them in place without nails.

Before the old work box is installed, you will need to fish the additional cable(s) down to the opening for the second switch.
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-06, 12:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 948
double light switch, single box. switches operate horizontaly and a receptacle cover is used.
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-06, 12:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 948
pass & seymour # 696-wcc combination 1 pole, 3 way toggle switch-white
upc # 785007288841

cooper wiring devices # 271v-box (consumer package) same type
upc # 032664160400

they share a feed but you can break the tab to isolate
 
  #7  
Old 01-14-06, 05:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If your breaker is tripping due to an overload, then you need to correct the situation that makes the breaker trip. Breakers should trip almost never. If yours is tripping more often than almost never, then you need to address that issue. Do not allow this to continue.

In the meantime, if being left in the dark is your concern, just buy one of those emergency lights that you plug in and comes on automatically when the power fails.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes