just the meter

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-06, 05:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Greeley, Colorado
Posts: 135
just the meter

Rookie on board. Be gentle.

I'm upgrading my service to 200amp.
I have an electrician coming on the weekend to help me.
He will make a parts list, get the stuff, then come
over and do the work, while I stand over his shoulder,
asking him all sorts of dumb questions, and offering my help
at every opportune moment. I'm sure that will please him immensely. He'll probably charge me double for his work.

I'm replacing everything past the the overhead service drop, which(among all other things) will include a new meter panel/main 200amp breaker(all in one). My question is about the meter itself, not just the new meter panel
containing the socket for the meter. Will we use the old meter? Will we need to buy a new one? Do different amp services require different
meters(in amps?) I'm asking because I don't ever recollect anyone asking specifically about the actual meter, not just the panel. Thanks in advance!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-14-06, 05:57 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
The meter will be the responsibility of the power company or at least should be their responsibility, since they are the ones who want to meter your usage. I found out in the forum this week (after being absent from the power company for 35 years) instead of having 100cl and 200 cl meters, nowadays, most all meters are 200cl's, which will handle 100 or 200 amp panels. Look on the face of the meter and see if it has that nomenclature written on it. Just inform the power company of your intentions so they can be ready to set your new meter without interruption of service.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-06, 06:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Greeley, Colorado
Posts: 135
Larry, thanks for the info. I had a suspicion that
the power Co. was the one who supplied the
new meter, but I didn't mention it, because I thought
if I were wrong, I would look like a rookie x 10, and everyone would
laugh at me . . .a lot!! But that's ok. I have lots more
"rookie" questions, so I better get used to being laughed at.
Ha ha, he he. Thanks again!
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-06, 07:30 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
This is why the POCO must be informed of a service change.
99.9% of the time a homeowner cannot touch the meter. Many areas allow approved electrical contractors to remove and replace meters during a service change if the meter is a plug-in style.
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-06, 06:30 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Ain't nobody laughing. This is the purpose of the forum. Some of us have experience in certain or many fields, and are willing to impart that knowledge to those who want to do it themselves. You have to learn from it however, or it is useless. As long as you ask, we will answer. Good luck with your project. And welcome back.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes