Can I...

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-06, 08:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: in
Posts: 126
Can I...

I have a single switched light in the center of a room. I want to run two branches off of this single light fixture to each side of this light. Another words making three light fixtures from the existing one. I know I can make it work but my main question is can I make the connections all in the center fixture. Its a standard fixture with 3 wire 14 gauge wire. So, I would have 9 total wires if I ran two additional branches. (all run off the same orginal swithch) Seems to me this would be too many wires on a connection.? So the next question would be..how do i do it the right way?

Thanks in advance for reading thru my gibberish.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-06, 08:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,338
It is very probably that you can do this. You need to know two things: how many (and what gauge) wires total are in the existing light fixture box and what is the volume of the box in cubic inches. Assuming #14 wire, and that your assessment of nine wires is correct, the box needs to be at least 14 cu. in; most boxes meet this requirement.

Your name has Chicago in it; do you live in Chicagoland? If so, local codes may require you to use THHN conductors in EMT conduit instead of the Romex cable that would be acceptable in other regions.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-06, 09:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: in
Posts: 126
Originally Posted by ibpooks
It is very probably that you can do this. You need to know two things: how many (and what gauge) wires total are in the existing light fixture box and what is the volume of the box in cubic inches. Assuming #14 wire, and that your assessment of nine wires is correct, the box needs to be at least 14 cu. in; most boxes meet this requirement.

Your name has Chicago in it; do you live in Chicagoland? If so, local codes may require you to use THHN conductors in EMT conduit instead of the Romex cable that would be acceptable in other regions.

Thanks for the reply. I live near chicago and romex is to code in my county. The wire is indeed 14 gauge and will be a total of 9 wires. I'll have to check the present "box" to see if it is big enough.
How about the connections? How do I connect 3 wires to one "lug"? Do I connected the wires and then run one wire to the lug on the fixture? I asume thats how you do it. Using the right connectors of course.
Thanks again!
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-06, 09:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
If the box is big enough, you can find wire nuts large enough to handle that many wires.

To reduce box overcrowding at box "A" (the existing fixture), see if you can run the cable from A to B to C, rather than from A to B and A to C. It just takes a bit more cable this way, but that's no big deal.

Not sure what you mean by a "lug". Most fixtures have wires to connect to rather than screws. Even if yours does have screws, just attach a single wire to it and use that to connect to the other wires with a wire nut.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-06, 09:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: in
Posts: 126
Originally Posted by John Nelson
If the box is big enough, you can find wire nuts large enough to handle that many wires.

To reduce box overcrowding at box "A" (the existing fixture), see if you can run the cable from A to B to C, rather than from A to B and A to C. It just takes a bit more cable this way, but that's no big deal.

Not sure what you mean by a "lug". Most fixtures have wires to connect to rather than screws. Even if yours does have screws, just attach a single wire to it and use that to connect to the other wires with a wire nut.
by lug i did mean point of connection (wire in this case). Good idea about running cable A to B to C. I'll do that.

Thanks for the replies!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'