Outlet Conversion

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-06, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Outlet Conversion

I have a standard wall outlet. I would like to convert it to a light switch controlling a light above. If I can feed line to the fixture can this outlet be converted to a switch?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-18-06, 08:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Yes, you can do this. But it will be a code violation if the receptacle is in a kitchen, bathroom (probably), laundry area, or dining room. And won't switch height be an issue?

Assuming this is not in the one of the rooms above, and assuming that the switch height will be okay, then I suggest you might consider converting this to a switch/receptacle combo device so that you'll still have a receptacle there (to avoid other possible code violations).
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-06, 08:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Thanks for the reply. Perhaps I should explain it better. In our kitchen we have six boxes along two walls above the counter and below the cabinets. There are three non-GFI outlets, 2 GFI outlets, and a switch plate that controls the disposal and a over-the-sink light. I would like to use one of the non-GFI outlets as the new switch to control some under cabinet lights on a dimmer. Hopefully this helps a little.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-06, 08:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
No can do. Kitchen lights cannot be on the same circuit as kitchen counter top receptacles.
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-06, 09:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Thanks. That's why I asked! Any suggestions on what I could do?
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-06, 09:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Is there an accessible attic above the kitchen? How will you be getting the light fixture in place?

The best solution is to tie into the circuit currently serving the existing kitchen lights, and run a cable down the wall to the new switch. Then you can install a new switch in a new box. If you can get above the room, or remove some of the ceiling, it's not that hard.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes