What can I do to save on installation?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-19-06, 02:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1
What can I do to save on installation?

I am going through a renovation and all electrical work will be completely new. I will be upgrading to a 200 Amp pannel with all new electrical from that point. I was hoping to get an electrician to rough in the house for me to the point of inspection. Once the drywall is up, I can do the rest. Is this something that I can finish with out a license?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-19-06, 02:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Originally Posted by douglasbhahn
Is this something that I can finish with out a license?
It probably depends on your local laws. Usually, yes.
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-06, 04:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
It will also depend on the elctrician. A permit will be required and will not be completed until the trim out. Electrician might not willing to leave half the job on a permit he pulled to you.
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-06, 04:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Good point, Joe. I was thinking it would be a homeowner-pulled permit. I agree. If I pull the permit; I FINISH THE JOB through final inspection.
 
  #5  
Old 01-19-06, 06:38 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Originally Posted by MAC702
If I pull the permit; I FINISH THE JOB through final inspection.
I strongly agree with this!
Folks tend to not realize if we pull the permit then our name is on the whole job.
 
  #6  
Old 01-19-06, 07:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Originally Posted by douglasbhahn
Once the drywall is up, I can do the rest. Is this something that I can finish with out a license?
If the contractor gets the permit and lets you do the work, you become an unpaid employee of the contractor. At least that's the effect. Here the code only requires that a contractor supervise the work; she can hire meth addicts to do the grunt work as long as there's a master electrician on board somewhere.

If you're lucky enough to live in a sufficiently-libertarian jurisdiction, and you are competent to do the branch circuit wiring yourself, just get your own separate permit for the branch circuits. You may be able to get a contractor to do the service and "Rough-In Only" but I doubt you'll save much money there since the final is the easy part.

Otherwise, if you cold call and tell prospective contractors that you want to do some work yourself under their permit, no one is going to bite. I would have contractors come for estimates and bring up the possibility of you doing some wiring work at that time or after the bids are in. If you bring it up after the bids are in, and they are willing to adjust their bid, that will of course tell you how much you're saving. But good luck finding someone who wants to refigure a bid on a small job.

Also expect to demonstrate at some time that you are well-versed in the code and detail-oriented.
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-06, 10:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
If there is the possibility in your area, you could pull the permit yourself as the "owner/occupier". You could here, anyway. Then, the permit is YOURS, and you can hire an electrician to do the rough-in only.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-06, 10:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 60
Couldn't trying to come in and finish after the rough work cause significant problems? I'm thinking three-way and four-way switches, split outlets, switched outlets, etc., could cause untold headaches even for an experienced electrician if they are not familiar with the particular job and the work that had been done initially. Unless there are detailed schematics and then it should be okay. But I think an inexperienced person would still have problems. I'm in the middle of a full rewire and I know I would if I tried to finish what someone else started. And I'm an electronics technician/engineer.

Which makes me ask - do you pros map out the whole house and do detailed schematics including your junction boxes and everything before you start a full rewire? Or do you guys know enough to do a simple schematic and go from there? Just wondering.

Steve
 
  #9  
Old 01-22-06, 06:14 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
No schematic here at all.
I map the place out in my head and go room to room or area to area.


I guess I am encouraging someone else finishing my work.
I make up all splices and grounds, twist all my switches and 3-ways very obviously, hook all my device wires, mark my GFI line sides.
A zombie could finish one of my jobs.
In fact they have...*evil laugh* muhahaahaahaahaa
 
  #10  
Old 01-22-06, 10:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
I'm with Speedy. All MY wiring is "made up" during rough-in and is very obvious in the box as to what it does.

BUT, I have done LOTS of being the second guy on the job and wondering what the FIRST guy was thinking...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'