Whirlpool hookup

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-06, 08:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 215
Whirlpool hookup

I am trying to install a whirlpool and I believe the building code says that the electrical must go through a wall and into an outlet. There is no way this can be done as it is at an outside wall.

Any ideas? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-06, 08:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Originally Posted by Chucktkd
I am trying to install a whirlpool and I believe the building code says that the electrical must go through a wall and into an outlet.
Where are you getting this from? This makes no sense at all.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-06, 08:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 215
Racraft,

Thanks for responding.

My understanding is that the electrical must go through a wall and into an outlet is from Home Depot.

How would I hook it up under the tub?
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-06, 08:58 AM
fixitron's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warren, Vermont
Posts: 353
Does this whirlpool come with a plug on the end of a cord to plug into an outlet?
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-06, 08:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Do not get your electrical advice from Home Depot. Unless this is some sort of a local rule (which is doubtful) they are incorrect. While the people at these stores mean well, they are wrong more often than they are right.

What are the electrical details (requirements) of this whirlpool tub?
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-06, 09:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 215
Fixitron,

No, it does not come with a plug and I have a 15 amp circuit breaker (as specified in the manual) and line run to the bathroom to a GFI outlet which is about 4 feet from the jacuzzi. The wire coming from the jucuzzi will not reach that far.
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-06, 09:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
What kind of wire comes from the jacuzzi?
 
  #8  
Old 01-20-06, 09:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,618
Is the nearby GFI dedicated for the whirlpool or is it the convenience receptacle close to the vanity bowl for hair dryers and the like?

If it is not dedicated to the tub it should not be used for the tub.

Bathrooms have specific requirements about ampacities and the loads that can be served from the bathroom circuits.

That being said, if the GFI is dedicated, you could install a regular receptacle fed from the load side of the GFI under the skirting and plug in the tub there. This will keep the test/resets accessible without having to remove the skirt should the GFI every trip.

Don't forget about the bonding requirements if you have metal piping to the whirlpool.
 
  #9  
Old 01-20-06, 11:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 525
Every whirlpool I've wired plugged into a GFI protected receptacle adjacent to the motor, behind a removable access door in the skirt of the tub. I don't install a GFI receptacle in such a location (in case it trips), but use a GFCI breaker or a GFI "switch" (just like a GFI receptacle, with test & reset buttons, but nowhere to plug a cord in) on a bathroom wall instead.
 
  #10  
Old 01-20-06, 02:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 215
The GFI I installed is dedicated to the whirlpool and is a 15 amp not associated with the 20 amp near the sink. It is across from the whirlpool and acessable easilly in case it trips.

I'm just concerned about hooking it up under the tub or around the skirt.
 
  #11  
Old 01-20-06, 02:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 525
You have to provide an access door for the motor. Just mount the receptacle where it is accessible from the access door, but won't hinder removal of the motor if ever required.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes