How to install on/off switch for H2o Heater?

Old 01-20-06, 01:03 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to install on/off switch for H2o Heater?

I travel a lot and would like to install a switch to turn off the power to my water heater(220V). I am told that if I keep flipping the breaker(s) they will wear out because they are not designerd for regular use.I looked in Home Depot and all I saw were 15 or 20 amp 120 volt switches. Does anyone know if this type of switch will work??

Old 01-20-06, 02:33 PM
You should use a double pole switch if you use a switch but I think it would be less expensive if you just replaced the breaker when it fails in 5 or 10 years.

Ken

Old 01-20-06, 02:41 PM
Switch

I could tell you how to do this, but I am a plumber. I will bow to the electric forum; thats where you have to go. Luck.

Old 01-20-06, 03:36 PM
Good point shacko. I will move the thread over there.

Ken

Old 01-21-06, 06:46 AM
Yes, it would work. You would need to install a box somewhere (where ever you want to run the 10/2 cable to) and a switch rated for 30 amps, available at an electrical supply house. I do not believe that the NEC would prohibit you from switching just one leg, but I would strongly suggest running the two cables and making it a two pole, single throw switch. I believe that the switch would cost just under $15, if I recall correctly.
If the breaker is not that inconvenient to use, I agree with KField. Use the breaker. A new one will be about the same as the cost of a switch.

Old 01-21-06, 07:12 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I'll add my aggreement to just use the breaker.
A two-pole 30 amp toggle switch is about $20, with another $10 in related parts. A two-pole breaker is generally under $10.
So if you need to replace the breaker twice in 20 years you'll breaker even with a lot less work. Besides, many breakers are rated for use as a switch.