Please help Please

Old 01-20-06, 05:01 PM
chriswhitelaw
Visiting Guest
Please help Please

Almost everytime we nuke something in the microwave it trips the breaker box downstairs. Why is this happening? I'm not a electrician by any means and have changed a few outlets by pure luck , is this something I'm going to have to call a professional for or is this something simple I can take of?

Old 01-20-06, 05:07 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
First, how old is the house? If older than 1993, you probably only have one 20 amp circuit in the kitchen powering toasters, microwaves, mixers, coffee makers, blenders, etc. I had this in an old farm house I owned once. A separate circuit for the microwave is always advisable, but not always practical. If the house is newer, you should have two separate circuits across the countertops protected by GFCI. If the microwave is portable, try using another outlet, different from the one you are currently using. If it doesn't blow the breaker, then you have overloaded the original one, and need to find out what all is being powered up on this circuit and adjust it. Post back so we can help further with this.

Old 01-20-06, 05:27 PM
R
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You are tripping the breaker because the circuit is overloaded. Either find a different circuit for the microwave, turn enough other appliances off that are on the same circuit, or run a new circuit for the microwave.

Old 01-20-06, 05:30 PM
I bet this is an over-the-range micro. Did it replace a regular range hood?
If so it is more than likely on a lighting circuit and will easily trip a 15 amp circuit with other loads on it.

Old 01-20-06, 06:41 PM
chriswhitelaw
Visiting Guest