ground stud in load center

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-06, 10:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 60
ground stud in load center

In my new load center there is a copper lug electrically connected to the grounding bus bar that is sitting next to the neutral bus bar. It looks like something you might connect a spring loaded clamp to as a test point. I have no idea why it is in there as this is not a meter panel where the neutral would be grounded. The neutral is electrically isolated on the panel. As far as I'm concerned the ground shouldn't be anywhere near the neutral in this subpanel. But I'm sure it has some function or it wouldn't be there. Can anyone clue me in?

Steve
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-22-06, 06:11 AM
fixitron's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warren, Vermont
Posts: 353
Are you talking about a new load panel that you just bought or something that has been installed?
Is it connecting the grounding busbar, the panel and the neutral busbar?
The grounding and neutral busbars can be joined in the service panel off of the meter, but not in a subpanel.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-06, 06:16 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
It is the bonding strap. Main-lug panels include them, even if they don't get used.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-06, 10:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 60
Grounding Strap! I tried fitting it into the neutral bar and it screws right back into the panel. I'm removing it because this is a subpanel and I don't need or want the neutral bar grounded.

Thanks!

Steve
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'