2/0 or 3/0?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-22-06, 08:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Midwest
Posts: 80
2/0 or 3/0?

I'm going to be installing a 200A service next week. This is in a new manufactured home. I've already got most everything I need for the job and have spoken to the state inspector already. I'll pull the permit for it next week.

Since the home is already pre-wired, my job is to connect to load center to the meter socket via 2" PVC conduit. I'm having a tough time trying to decide what size and material of cable to use for this. I think I'll skip the aluminum cable, it's not cheap enough to make it worth the trouble.

Would you use 2/0 or 3/0 copper? I'm leaning towards 2/0 because it would be *slightly* easier to pull thru conduit. Is there any overwhelming reason to use 3/0 over 2/0?

Note: The POCO is using 4/0 AL on their side of the meter.

Thx,
Joe Michel
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-22-06, 08:32 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
For a 200A service, 2/0 awg copper is fine.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-06, 08:46 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
You should use 2/0 because it's code legal and there is no reason to go larger (except for a real long run), especially since the POCO ran 4/0al which is the size equivalent of 2/0cu for a 200 amp service..
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-06, 11:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Midwest
Posts: 80
Thanks again! Now, if they'd just bring my house, I could get busy! But that's another story!

Joe Michel
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-06, 08:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 107
2/0 copper is ok for 200A? I always 2/0 had a safe limit of around 175A...oh well I guess I learn something new. I have 3/0 copper in mine, so I guess I should be good for up to 225A?
 
  #6  
Old 01-23-06, 09:50 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Ampacity for residential services and feeders use a different table {310.15(B)(6)} than the typical 310.16 ampacity tables for branch circuits.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes