Panel, 9 florescent shop lights, 3/way switchs...??/

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-06, 04:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Panel, 9 florescent shop lights, 3/way switchs...??/

I've wired my 9 shop lights in series, as follows:

14/2 cable from source (panel-15amp breaker) to 1st florescent, (hot to hot, white to white), and so on for all remaining 8 fluorescents, then a 14/2 to 1st 3way switch then, of course, a 14/3 to 2nd 3way switch.

The lights work when I turn on power to circuit, but neither switch does.

Not sure what the problem is,, seems like I've miswired the 3ways, or, because of my configuration, should I have wire my fixtures in parallel in order for my 3ways to function? If so, rather then rewire all 9 fixtures, would it be easier for me to send the cable from source (panel) to the 3ways 1st, then to the fixtures?

Thanks for your help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-23-06, 04:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You have to go through the switches before the lights.

Either use 14-3 between the lights and wire the switches as a switch loop (which can keep the same wiring pattern), or run power to the switches first.

The easiest wiring scenario would be:

breaker to first switch (14-2)
first switch to second switch (14-3)
second switch to first light (14-2)
first light to second light (14-2)
second light to third light (14-2)
etc.
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-06, 11:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
you did not wire your lites in series they are parallell. it sounds like they are daisy chained or pigtailed, with hot and neutral going to each lite and parallell to the next lite. racraft described a good way for 3 way lighting. you dont have to go to the switches first but it is the easiest way. you can bring the hot right to the first lite but then the hot would splice thru with the S/L to the 1st sw and then 3 wire to the 2nd sw. follow racrafts method
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-06, 11:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
thx

Followed Raycraft's advise. Jobs done. Thanks again guys
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-06, 02:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
I'm glad you solved your problem.

A suggestion for the future is to draw diagrams on paper before running cable. I still do this and find that it helps immensely for anything that is more than just a receptacle or two.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'