Sub Panel ground rod: Redundant?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-06, 10:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Greeley, Colorado
Posts: 135
Sub Panel ground rod: Redundant?

Since the main panel is grounded to Earth, is there a need to run a conductor from a sub panel, directly to a ground rod? Or, since the subpanel is already grounded to the main panel, which is already grounded to Earth, does this make a sub panel ground rod redundent, or, unnecessary, if you will?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-06, 10:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
A sub panel in the the same structure as the main panel is not grounded via a ground rod.

A sub panel in a separate structure is grounded via a ground rod.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-06, 11:28 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Originally Posted by racraft
A sub panel in a separate structure is grounded via a ground rod.
But please run 4 wires and do not bond neutral to ground.

If neutral is bonded to ground (three-wire feeder), the stray voltage effects are increased.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'