220 Breaker Question?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-06, 10:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
220 Breaker Question?

Is there a difference between a 110 dual and a 220 dual breaker with a bar between? I'm trying to run my 220 two wire circut, black-red-bare wire for a heater without success?
thanks
Brian
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-06, 10:29 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 137
Yeah there is a big difference, the 110 dual has both wires on the same phase(line) and won't give you 220. You need a 2 pole breaker to get both phases.

I assume this a residential breaker panel, the next space under the new breaker you just put in is the other phase
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-06, 12:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Exactly correct Rick3236! Funny how you forget little things when you don't do them that often! Thanks for your help
B
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'