wall outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-06, 10:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
wall outlet

I am trying to replace an outlet in my mobile home. the problem is that when i went to replace it it was as follows. it had a ground, 3 wires on one side and 3 wires on the other side, i thought that outlet only had 2 and 2 and a ground. so how do i fix it?? di i get an outlet with 3 and 3 and a ground??? or can i make it work with just the outlet that i bought.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-06, 11:18 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
I am trying to replace an outlet in my mobile home. the problem is that... it has a ground, 3 wires on one side, and 3 wires on the other side
Can you provide a picture?
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-06, 11:36 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Originally Posted by cj9113
....can i make it work with just the outlet that i bought.
You'll have to splice all the like color wires with a pigtail to the receptacle. Be sure to use a wirenut that is sized for the wires you are splicing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'