Installing a GFCI on 14/3 wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-06, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Question Installing a GFCI on 14/3 wire

I want to install a GFCI outlet using 14/3 wire for a kitchen outlet. The current outlet is split using 14/3 wire. How can I install the GFCI since it appears to be designed for 14/2 wire? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-06, 06:39 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
First off they do make two-pole GFI breakers, for times when a receptacle is split wired for one thing.

Second, kitchen receptacle circuits MUST be 20 amp and wired with #12 minimum. I know you say it's wired already but this is, and I believe always was , code.
Now, this is a US code. Are you in the USA or Canada? I think Canada allows #14ga/15 amp kitchen circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-06, 06:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Sounds like a Canada kitchen counter code. They don't make GFCI for split receptacles. You must use a GFCI double pole breaker. You are however now allowed to use 20 amp circuits in the kitchen.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'