Kitchen flourescents

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-06, 10:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Kitchen flourescents

I would like to install (2) fluorescent fixtures to replace the single incandescent light that exists.They will be ceiling mounted above a luminous suspended ceiling,with each one being about 18-24" away from the existing ceiling box.

My question is that if I run a length of 14/2 cable from the box to each fixture what is the correct way(if any) to join/secure the wires at the ceiling box when the cables are run across the face of the ceiling drywall?

Thanks for any help and or suggestions.

Also...is the part of the fluorescent fixture under the ballast cover with all the wiring enclosed considered a "junction box"?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-06, 03:25 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
My question is that if I run a length of 14/2 cable from the box
What amperage breaker protects this circuit?


what is the correct way(if any) to join/secure the wires at the ceiling box when the cables are run across the face of the ceiling drywall?
The cables need to be stapled/strapped to the ceiling and within 12" of the junction box.

The cable must be clamped to the box with a NM cable box connector.




is the part of the fluorescent fixture under the ballast cover with all the wiring enclosed considered a "junction box"?
Yes.
Here also, the cable must be clamped to the fixture with a NM cable box connector in the hole where it enters the fixture.
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-06, 05:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Thanks for the responses......

Originally Posted by bolide
What amperage breaker protects this circuit?


15A breaker..Is that not good?
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-06, 05:41 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
No, Bolide was just making sure you were using the proper gauge wire on the proper circuit. A 14-2 cable is fine with the 15 amp breaker. If you had a 20 amp breaker, you would have to use 12-2.
 
  #5  
Old 02-07-06, 05:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Thanks Larry...for the clarification.

The existing wiring is 12/2...from the 15A breaker.Should I use 12/2 instead of 14/2 from the existing JB to the fixtures?
 
  #6  
Old 02-07-06, 06:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 149
Yes, stay with your existing wire size - 12-2. Someone may see the 12-2 in panel and replace the 15A breaker with a 20A....
 
  #7  
Old 02-07-06, 06:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Originally Posted by rodek01
Yes, stay with your existing wire size - 12-2. Someone may see the 12-2 in panel and replace the 15A breaker with a 20A....
Roger that Rodek01..thanks for the reminder.
 
  #8  
Old 02-07-06, 07:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
To add, they make round plates with a standard knockout in the middle, you will need one of them.
 
  #9  
Old 02-07-06, 08:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Originally Posted by classicsat
To add, they make round plates with a standard knockout in the middle, you will need one of them.
Thanks classicsat.....I'll hunt down one of those tomorrow.


Thanks again everyone for the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'