Outlet extensions?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-06, 03:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Outlet extensions?

I am remodeling a kitchen and installing backer board and tile for a added depth of 3/4 inch to the wall. What is the correct way to make the outlet and switch boxes line up with the new wall? Thanks. Also as this is in a kitchen do I need to replace the old outlets with GFCI outlets? GFI outlets
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-06, 03:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You most likely need to bring the kitchen completely up to code. You at least need to bring the counter top receptacles up to code.

Either replace the boxes or use box extensions.
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-06, 03:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Tom Bailey

How are box extensions installed? It looks like they are screwed intowall on top of old box?
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-06, 03:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
They make different types. The better ones screw on to the top of the box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes