Adding receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-08-06, 05:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Adding receptacle

Morning,
I want to run a new receptacle from an already existing one, but all the screws are being used. Can I still add the new one? If so what is the easiest way to gain access to the punch outs in the old box without destroying the drywall?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-08-06, 06:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
what kind of box metal or plastic, nail on or old work or a gem box. take all the wires off the screws and wire nut each color together, adding one extra wire to attach to the outlet. this is pigtailing. how many wires are in there b/c need to consider box fill with the device and conductors. what is the new outlet being used for b/c you must consider the existing load on the circuit and wether or not your adding an outlet for general use or a cord and plug appliance fastened or not in place.
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-06, 07:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
As tach said, use wire nuts and pigtails to attach additional wires to a receptacle.

Fishing a wire into an already installed box is a challenge. It's usually easier to go into a receptacle box if you come up from below.

Another method is to remove the box, fish your new wire, and then install and use an old work box.
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-06, 09:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks

Thanks to both of you, your info helped a lot.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'