Adding new outlet for tv question.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-09-06, 10:54 AM
P
paradis2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Adding new outlet for tv question.

I'm planning on wall mounting an LCD tv in my bedroom and want to keep everything clean. I want to add an outlet behind where the tv will hang. There is an existing outlet near the floor directly below where the tv will hang, and I believe that wiring runs up from that outlet towards the ceiling.

Would it make sense to splice into the existing wiring to add the new outlet? I'm not familiar with building codes, so please let me know if this is the wrong approach.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-09-06, 11:04 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, it makes sense that you could tap into this receptacle, provided that the circuit is properly grounded.

However, it may or may not make sense to tap into the cable. Determine if in fact the cable does run up the wall.
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-06, 11:23 AM
P
paradis2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If it does run up(I'm fairly certain it does, its an area between 2 closets) Is splicing the best option, or should I just run new wire from the lower outlet?

Thanks again for your help.
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-06, 11:27 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Probably the better option would be to splice in the new box, which means you will have to replace the cable from the new box down to the existing box.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: