Generator GFCI

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-10-06, 06:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Cool Generator GFCI

The GFCI in my home generator trips when I connect to my homes electrical panel. If I don't connect the green ground wire in this connection everything is fine. Is there any reason why I should not run it this way ? I have connected the ground bar in the manual transfer switch to the ground bar in the main panel.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-10-06, 09:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
That makes sense because the GFCI is sensing the bond between the neutral and ground in the main panel. I've never had to deal with that issue, so we'll have to wait for one of the other experts. Some of these guys install these generators for a living, so they'll let us know.
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-06, 10:13 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Originally Posted by ghivancich
The GFCI in my home generator trips when I connect to my home's electrical panel.
Was the generator made to be hooked to a panel?
 

Last edited by bolide; 02-10-06 at 10:25 AM.
  #4  
Old 02-10-06, 08:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 31
If your generator has a bonded neutral, then you will have the neutral and ground together at two points, the main panel and the generator. This would cause your GFCI to trip.
 
  #5  
Old 01-28-07, 04:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by ghivancich View Post
The GFCI in my home generator trips when I connect to my homes electrical panel. If I don't connect the green ground wire in this connection everything is fine. Is there any reason why I should not run it this way ? I have connected the ground bar in the manual transfer switch to the ground bar in the main panel.
Yes, there is a reason!

At the Briggs and Stratton web-site for generators they tell you that the GFCI generators are not intended or designed to be connected to the main panel, because the NEUTRAL bar and the ground bar are bonded together in the main panel and therefore DO NOT OPERATE as such! Removing the green ground wire creates a electrical safety hazard because it is the safety grounding wire! You might get a electrician to tell you how to bypass the GFCI on the generator so as to make it a conventional output without GFCI protection, BUT if someone at ever got shocked from such and spilled a hot cup of coffee in their crotch and they lived through it, someone would be liable for such! (the GFCI protection limits the amount of electrical shock to a safer limit for humans which is 7millamps or less of current through the body!)

Hope this helps you!
 
  #6  
Old 01-28-07, 07:02 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Originally Posted by ghivancich View Post
The GFCI in my home generator trips when I connect to my homes electrical panel. If I don't connect the green ground wire in this connection everything is fine. Is there any reason why I should not run it this way ? I have connected the ground bar in the manual transfer switch to the ground bar in the main panel.

How exactly do you have this connected to your house panel?
Why are you just useing the GFCI and not the 4-wire rec.? One is made for your use and the other (GFCI) is used for local purposes (drills etc.).
What size generator is it?
 
  #7  
Old 01-28-07, 08:50 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Guys, you realize this post is a year old, don't you.
 
  #8  
Old 01-29-07, 05:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Guys, you realize this post is a year old, don't you.
Speedy Petey

NO, I DID NOT SEE THAT IT'S A YEAR OLD! Maybe it might help someone else!

Thanks for pointing that out!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes