15amp vs 20amp

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-15-06, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
15amp vs 20amp

i am rewiring my house and installing a new updated breaker panel. how do you determine the breaker amp size. im runing 12/2 wire. installing 20amp gfci's in bathrooms and kitchen. seperating each room onto its on cicuit is this also good? thanks for any help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-15-06, 10:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 948
i would seperate overhead lighting from the basic room. an appliance tripping a breaker in the room would kill the lighting. if you ever want to install a standby generator, it would be nice to have as many rooms on one curcuit for some level of lighting. in your scenario, you would eat up breaker spaces on a transfer switch real fast. just a thought
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-06, 10:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
12 gauge wire 20 amp breaker max.
14 gauge wire 15 amp breaker max.
 
  #4  
Old 02-15-06, 10:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You did not say what country you are in. Please provide that information.

Please make sure that you understand the electrical codes where you live. In the US, kitchens, bathrooms and laundry rooms have special rules. Running one circuit room (especially for the kitchen) will result in incorrect wiring which you will have to redo for the inspection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes