Need help with my FryDaddy getting too hot!

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-23-06, 10:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with my FryDaddy getting too hot!

Hello,

Am I GLAD I found this website! Hopefully you guys can help me, the noob. Here's the situation:

I purchased a Presto FryDaddy. It is a small deep fryer. It is rated at 120 volts AC and 1200 watts. You can see it here:

http://www.gopresto.com/products/pro...hp?stock=05420

It has an automatic thermostat that shuts the unit down when it reaches 400 degrees and heats back up when it drops to 375 degrees. There lays the problem. I am not frying stuff in it. I make hand poured fishing worms and want to use this to cook my plastic in. Everything is perfect about this fryer except that it gets a little too hot. I need to keep my plastic at about 300-325 degrees instead of 375-400 degrees.

If the thermostat was adjustable, I would not have a problem. Is there a way to fix this? I was hoping that some sort of dimmer could be spliced into the power cord or something and that could be my manual temperature control. Is there something like that and would that work? Would reducing the amount of electricity going to the unit reduce the teperature?

Is the thermostat that tells the unit to turn on and turn off actually inside the unit or is it the fat part of the plug that I plug into the fryer? Are the thermostats universal? If so, could I just get a new thermostat that works at my temperature range? Where would I get one of these?

A guy at Ace Hardware told me I need a rheostat. I searched the web for those and I am not sure that is what I need.

Any help you have would be greatly appreciated.

Ryan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-06, 12:07 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Welcome, Ryan.

> I need to keep my plastic at about 300-325 degrees instead of 375-400 degrees.
>
> If the thermostat were adjustable, I would not have a problem.
> Is there a way to fix this?

Perhaps, but it will void the warranty and the UL listing.


> I was hoping that some sort of dimmer

No, no dimmer can help you.

> Is there something like that and would that work?
Replace the thermostat.

> Would reducing the amount of electricity going to the unit reduce the temperature?
Not exactly. It would not regulate the temperature to a lower setting. It would just reduce the wattage.


> Is the thermostat that tells the unit to turn on and turn off actually inside the unit
Yes.

> or is it the fat part of the plug that I plug into the fryer?
No.


> Are the thermostats universal?
Just like engines are universal.


> If so, could I just get a new thermostat that works at my temperature range?
Maybe.
First you need to see whether you can access your old one.

> Where would I get one of these?
First you need to find out what you have now.
Then you get the same thing in a lower temperature or modify the one you have.


> A guy at Ace Hardware told me I need a rheostat.
He was mistaken.


> I searched the web for those and I am not sure that is what I need.
It is a dimmer. You don't need it.


Did you consider purchasing something with a variable thermostat?
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-06, 12:14 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks bolide. I was looking for something with an adjustable thermostat, but they were all at least 3 times larger than this and would not work for what I need it for.

I think I can easily access the thermostat. What am I looking for? Where do I go to get a new one?

Thanks again,

Ryan
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-06, 01:06 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Besides the heating element, that's about all there is inside.

You'll have to open it to see. Post a picture of whatever you find.
I've never opened one. If it doesn't work it goes in the garbage.


One strategy is to get an adjustable thermostat as on other models, adjust it, and leave it inside "permanently".

Perhaps the one inside is already adjustable but just doesn't have a handle.
You never know until you look.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-06, 01:17 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I found the thermostat. It is an A-7 made by A.T.C.

http://www.atconline.com/ApplTherm.htm

It also appears to have a thermal fuse rated at 240 C.

http://www.atconline.com/microtemp.htm

It appears to be extremely easy to replace. It does not appear that I can order these on their website, though. Where could I go to get something like this?

I think I see how these things work. Correct me if I am wrong. This particular thermostat is set at 375 degrees F (that is what they told me on the phone). So when the temperature gets below 375, the thermostat turns the unit on. The thermal fuse turns the unit off when the temperature reaches it's rating (in this case 240 degrees C).

Are there any rules of thumb with how many degrees seperation there needs to be between these two parts? For example, am I going to have any problems if I put on a thermostat rated at 300 degrees F and a thermal fuse at 325 F?
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-06, 01:46 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just want to toss this at you. It may help

http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html...t_adv_XSC10001

your fryer is a 4 cup model and the link above is for 4.22 cups so it is not much bigger at all. And it has the adjustable thermostat

and it is 27 bucks
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-06, 02:01 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Dim Bulb. I will have to go look at it. I did not mention previously that I actually will be drilling and tapping a spigot coming out of it, so I'm not sure one like that one will work.
 
  #8  
Old 02-24-06, 03:00 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The thermostats are adjustable, do it at your own risk.
You need to remove the bottom, don't force the cover you may brake the wires.

First: You need to remove the two 5/16" nuts that secure the prongs for the plug.
You MUST re-secure the adjusting screw with the same type of Hi temperature glue.
If you find out what type of glue it is let me know.

I think you turn the screw inward, to lessen the heat.


Don't bother looking for a rheostat, It would be to large and very hard to find.

Dimmer?
Maybe It will need to be rated over the 1200 watts.
Maybe a motor speed controller for an electric router from Harbor freight.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=43060
 
  #9  
Old 02-24-06, 03:21 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by millsryno
I found the thermostat. It is an A-7 made by A.T.C.
Then it is adjustable. So why replace it?


The thermal fuse turns the unit off when the temperature reaches its rating
No. The thermostat turns it off. The fuse is a one-shot deal.
If it blows, you buy a new fryer.


> am I going to have any problems if I put on a thermostat rated at 300 degrees F and
> a thermal fuse at 325 F?
Yes.
Leave what is there alone unless what you are cooking ignites at or below 240C (464F).
 
  #10  
Old 02-24-06, 03:31 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wires are spot welded onto the thermostat.
You would not be able to reattach the wires without a spot welder.
 
  #11  
Old 02-24-06, 09:12 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,694
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
Try this and keep the Fry Daddy for shrimp.

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...362&hasJS=true
 
  #12  
Old 02-24-06, 10:48 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Guys! We are really making some progress. I was getting a little discouraged...

I did not notice the screw to adjust the thermostat. It was covered in white "crud". I scraped it away and it has a screw slot to turn it. I'm thinking I need to turn it counterclockwise to loosen it to reduce the temp. Anybody have any insight on that? The screw does not stick out anywhere nearly as far as it does in that link I posted. It only sticks up maybe an 1/8th inch.

As far as the Lee production pot at Cabelas. Those do not work well. They are small and the handle runs inside of the unit so a mixer would not be possible. More guys use those for lead than soft plastic worms. They are too tempermental for plastic.

Anybody have any ideas on what glue I need to buy after I adjust the thermostat?

Thanks again, Ryan
 
  #13  
Old 02-24-06, 11:44 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 719
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by millsryno
I did not notice the screw to adjust the thermostat. It was covered in white "crud". I scraped it away and it has a screw slot to turn it. I'm thinking I need to turn it counterclockwise to loosen it to reduce the temp. Anybody have any insight on that?
I say turn it in (clockwise) one turn, It brings the contact closer to the lower spring.
the lower metal, springs upward to open the contacts.
Heat it up with a blow dryer or heat gun and see the contacts open up. heat the lower spring.

Try a pottery making shop for the white cement glue.
let me know where you find it, maybe an appliance parts store.
 
  #14  
Old 02-24-06, 01:40 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know you're past this point already, but a dimmer/rheostat/etc would not have worked. Reducing the voltage would just increase the amount of time the thermostat would be in the "on" condition, since it is still trying to heat up to the set point. If you reduce the voltage further, the thermostat would never turn off and you would be at a lower but uncontrolled temperature....
 
  #15  
Old 02-24-06, 07:37 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'd go with a fry that is adjustable
 
  #16  
Old 02-24-06, 10:26 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all your help guys! I adjusted it and it is working perfectly. I turned the thermostat 3/4 turn to the right and it put it right where I wanted it. I had it up and running tonight.

Thanks again!

Ryan
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: