subpanel run from main

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-06, 08:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Deer Park, N.Y.
Posts: 155
subpanel run from main

want to run 100amp subpanel approximately 75 ft from main panel which is 200 amp
with 100 amp breaker for subpanel inside main panel

is #3 wire ok?

also, i got a verbal estimate of $400 or more for the job.
i can do this myself im sure as i have done electrical in and around my house over the years but im just curious as to if this is an over inflated price?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-06, 09:13 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> is #3 wire ok?
Yes, if copper.

> i got a verbal estimate of $400 or more for the job.
Get a written estimate.


> i can do this myself im sure as i have done electrical in and
> around my house over the years but im just curious as to
> if this is an over inflated price?

That price is fine if the installer is knowledgable and proficient.
If you do it yourself, there are some easy mistakes to make, like you didn't mention what equipment grounding conductor you will use. Do you install the MBJ in the subpanel?
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-06, 09:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
off hand that sounds a little low. as bolide said make sure its in writing. does that include the sub and the breaker and labor. just the cost of the wire is high with the price of copper and building material in general so high. also an egc is needed to add to the expense. 75 ft of 3 #3's copper plus an egc, sub panel, breakers for main and sub. just be aware, sometimes too low of a price is sign of trouble.
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-06, 02:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Deer Park, N.Y.
Posts: 155
what an egc? is that the ground cable?
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-06, 02:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 49
When I do a subpanel, the price starts at $500 and goes from there.
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-06, 05:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Deer Park, N.Y.
Posts: 155
what an egc? is that the ground cable?
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-06, 06:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Google is your friend.

egc: equipment grounding conductor
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes