Tapping a fluorescent fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-06, 08:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Tapping a fluorescent fixture

I'm currently doing some tech work for a theatre with next to no budget. Unfortunately, the space we are in doesn't currently have sufficient outlets for our electrical needs. There are 6 rows of fluorescent fixtures (with 10 pairs per row) in the space that aren't being used. I've disconnected one of these fixtures, and attached a plug. However, my problem is that there is two much power flowing through the plug (2 20 amp circuits, and it won't work unless both are on) for the lights that are being powered (8 150 bulbs, not all on at once) when I first fired it up with these attached, (as you can probably guess) the one bulb that I had turned on blew out. How can I prevent this from happening? Is there a regulator / dampener I need?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-06, 09:40 PM
cgar's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 170
Are you trying to say that you put an outlet on a 240VAC circuit?

Very unclear what you have there. You need to figure out what kind of voltage those flouresencts are using. Sounds like you have created a dangerous situation.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-06, 10:18 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> However, my problem is that there is two much power flowing
> through the plug (2 20 amp circuits, and it won't work unless both are on)

That's not power. That's voltage. Do you have a neutral (white wire)?


> for the lights that are being powered (8 150 bulbs, not all on at once) when
> I first fired it up with these attached, (as you can probably guess) the
> one bulb that I had turned on blew out. How can I prevent this from happening?

You need to tell us exactly what you started with and what color the wires are.


> Is there a regulator / dampener I need?

No. You just need to wire them correctly.
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-06, 04:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Either you wired wrong, or you don't have 120 volt power to these lights.

I suggest you abandon your plan and hire an electrician. You're a fool for doing any work in a commercial building if you're not a licensed electrician. The liability you are assuming is enormous. If your work should cause a fire you will probably be charged. If your work should cause someone to get injured or worse to do die, you will go to jail.
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-06, 04:49 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I suspect the lights are 277/480, since it is a commercial building, which is a real boo boo waiting to happen for a novice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'