? about adding seperate breaker box

Old 03-07-06, 11:31 AM
Question ? about adding seperate breaker box

Ok here I go, there is a bit to spill here. I had a fire just before Christmas due to an overload (fire inspector said). One of my circuit breakers kept tripping, I was told to replace with a 30A, I did, still tripped so I put the 20A back in, well, to late I guess. Now as we are being restored, I want to know would it be possible to add an outlet under the eaves of all 4 corners of the house? or should I have a seperate breaker box installed? What can I do to ensure this problem never happens again? This house is 4 years old. My wife and I really love decorating for Holidays and such, but to be honest, I am really gun shy now. What can I do or should do to ensure this won't happen again, and to allow me to put my Christmas lights and yard decor's out without being nervous? I have no knowledge of electrical work, So please any information would be so helpful. We have just had the house re-wired where the damage was, and the electricians said it would cost $1000 for labor alone to hook up one outlet under 4 corners of the eaves. Any information would really help me.
Thanks.:wmann3:

Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-06, 12:06 PM
I don't know who told you to install a larger circuit breaker. Obviously it was stupid advice. I suggest you no longer turn to that person (or source) for advice, and that you tell them just how stupid their bad advice was and how it almost cost you your house.

You tripped a 20 amp circuit breaker. That means that you overloaded the circuit. The fact that you still tripped a 30 amp breaker means that you really overloaded the circuit. Either you tried to place way too many decorations on the circuit, or perhaps some of the decorations are defective and/or damaged.