200amp Upgrade

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-09-06, 03:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nassau county ny
Posts: 193
200amp Upgrade

My friend had a service upgrade from 150 to 200amps and the electrician said he had a Murray 40 circuit breaker panel. The schematic on the door shows up to 40 circuits but I only count 30 knockouts. Am I missing something?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-09-06, 03:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
It probably will allow 10 twin breakers. Those 10 twins would be 20 circuits to go along with the other 20 circuits making 40.
 
  #3  
Old 03-09-06, 03:58 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
That is a 30/40 panel. 30 space, 40 "circuit". With regard to panels and breakers each "pole" of a breaker is considered a "circuit".
For the panel in question, it will accept twins in the bottom 10 spaces. A twin is also considerd two circuits.


408.35 Number of Overcurrent Devices on One Panelboard
Not more than 42 overcurrent devices (other than those provided for in the mains) of a lighting and appliance branch-circuit panelboard shall be installed in any one cabinet or cutout box.
A lighting and appliance branch-circuit panelboard shall be provided with physical means to prevent the installation of more overcurrent devices than that number for which the panelboard was designed, rated, and approved.
For the purposes of this article, a 2-pole circuit breaker shall be considered two overcurrent devices; a 3-pole circuit breaker shall be considered three overcurrent devices.
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-06, 02:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nassau county ny
Posts: 193
Thank you guys I understand now but why double up? Why didn't the electrical contractor just put in a full 40 breaker panel? Does it take up too much space? Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 03-10-06, 07:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Why didn't the electrical contractor just put in a full 40 breaker panel?
For the same reason any contractor does anything: cost.
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-06, 08:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nassau county ny
Posts: 193
It turned out very good with power also run up to the attic for the central air that will be installed for the second floor zone next week. Thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'