Long distance electrical run

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-10-06, 02:19 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 530
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Long distance electrical run

Installing a plug receptacle near my front yard for holiday lighting. The run will be a 20A, GFI circuit and is about 100' from the panel to the location. The wire will be thru 3/4" pvc conduit.

Is 12 gauge good or should I go to 10 gauge?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-10-06, 03:13 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
12 AWG is good. How many amps (or watts) do you actually need?
If more than 15A, your money would be better spent going multi-wire with a 15A double-pole GFCI breaker and 14 AWG.

Have you considered how you will control the circuit with a snap switch or timer?
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-06, 06:10 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For a long exterior run circuit, I would suggest placing the GFCI protection at the receptacle and not at the breaker. It reduces false tripping and offers you a more convenient location to reset the GFCI.
I agree that #12 is fine.
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-06, 06:58 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is the entire run in conduit, or only the outdoor portion? Make sure you use water rated wire outside (THWN).
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-06, 02:23 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 530
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many amps (or watts) do you actually need?
Hard to say. It will mainly be used for christmas mini lights and they don't say how many watts or amps they use. Only that they need a 2,5v and/or a 3.5v lamp, 150 in a set. I can't imagine it being more than a couple hundred watts, if that much.

If more than 15A, your money would be better spent going multi-wire with a 15A double-pole GFCI breaker and 14 AWG.
I don't have many circuits left in my panel so I need to keep it to just one circuit. I already have a spare 20A breaker that I was going to use.

Have you considered how you will control the circuit with a snap switch or timer?
Probably just an electronic timer.

For a long exterior run circuit, I would suggest placing the GFCI protection at the receptacle and not at the breaker.
Exactly what I had in mind. Thanks Ron.

Is the entire run in conduit, or only the outdoor portion?
Entire run will be in conduit. Thanks for the tip on the THWN. I will make sure it has that rating.

Thanks guys. I appreciate the advice.

Randy
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: