Transfer Switch vs Transfer Panel

Old 03-11-06, 10:22 AM
Transfer Switch vs Transfer Panel

Doing some more research on generator transfer set-ups and would like some opinions....

What is better or more preferred by the pros?
A transfer panel that is set up like a sub panel
http://www.gen-tran.com/Merchant2/gr...01210_full.jpg

Or

A transfer switch that uses "Break/Make" switches for each circuit
http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/...CLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

I'm leaning towards the panel but would like some professional input on both systems.
Thanks,
Phil

Sponsored Links
Old 03-11-06, 01:18 PM
transfer switch

Phil, I am a state licensed master electrician in Texas and I have designed and installed numerous genset/ATS projects and I will be glad to help you but I need to ask you some questions first to help me understand what you are trying to do.
1. Is this retrofitting an existing electrical service or is it all new?
2. If it is retofitting an existing and is a residence I need to know the details on your service. Such as size in amps - 100 or 200, whether your breaker box is inside or outside.
3. Is the generator going to be permantely mounted or a portable unit?
4. Did you want to supply generator power for your whole house or just essential loads I.E. 120 volt power to lights, refigerator, freezer & etc.
The two pictures you have on your posting are manual transfer switches and I personally prefer the automatic type. This is due somewhat to me being an electrician and I like anything that works automatically but in reality an ATS will sense when the normal side power is not available and will automatically start the genset and once the genset has reached the proper voltage and frequency will transfer over and power the loads until the normal power has been restored. This works best with a permanent mount genset but can work with a portable unit. Okay I have rambled enough. Let me know the answers to questions above and I will try to help you decide.