GFCI and reverse polarity?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-06, 04:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
GFCI and reverse polarity?

We are trying to replace a working switch with a GFCI receptable. The switch is working at the beginning of the operation. We removed the switch and connected the black wire to the hot (brass) terminal of the receptable line and the white wire to the white (silver) terminal of the receptable line. And taa daa... nothing.
We've done this in other parts of the house had no problems.
Could it be a problem of reverse polarity? If so, how can we remedy to the problem.
We are a bit new at do-it-yourself project and will appreciate any help we can get.
Marie and Eric
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-11-06, 05:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
reverse polarity has nothing to do with it. a switch and a gfci are two different devices. a switch is wired with a hot and switch leg. a gfi requires a hot and neutral.

"We've done this in other parts of the house had no problems."
i dont see how this is possible. how many other wires in the switch box, if any? what was this switch controlling when it was hooked up? hold off on any other electrical projects until you read thru a basic wiring book.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-06, 05:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Hello Tach
Thanks for the quick feedback. Actually, we misspoke before. We replaced old receptables with new GFCI's. And this worked.
In the current situation, we are trying to replace a switch by a GFCI. From what you are saying, this is not possible.
If we want additional receptables in the room, we would have to draw the wires from another receptable outlet, right?
Thanks again,
Marie and Eric
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-06, 05:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
yes, that makes more sense. a gfi requires a hot and neutral. what room is this in, b/c gfi's are only required in certain areas of a dwelling, or if replacing a non-grounding receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-06, 05:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
We are working in the basement, but there is a wet bar in the area. We felt more comfortable using GFCI's. In any case, your feedback really helps. We'll draw the wire from another receptable. Thanks again.
Marie and Eric
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'