Wire mounted thru studs

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-16-06, 02:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin U.S.A.
Posts: 109
Unhappy Wire mounted thru studs

I plan on putting a door thru and existing wall, but when i looked between them, i found a electrical
cord going thru the studs where the door would be. It comes from the basement ceiling light, a hole
drilled in the ceiling, to where i seen it, can i turn of the main power, and wire nut the cord to run on
top of the door?
Wisconsin Wally
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-16-06, 02:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
The only way you could cut and reroute the wire would be if there is enough slack to do so and if you install a permanently accessible junction box. You are not allowed to make splices in the walls. There is likely not the required slack (you need 12 inches slack) and you most likely do not want a junction box above the door.

The solution is (with the power off) to disconnect the wire at the either end and reroute it. If it's not long enough to reroute, then disconnect at both ends and replace with a longer piece.

Before disconnecting either end, make detailed notes on the manner in which the wires are connected. Do not rely on your memory.
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-06, 07:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin U.S.A.
Posts: 109
Red face Thanks Bob

I never thought about re-routing the wire, i think i will take it off the light in the basement, and
pull it from the other end, to get it out of the studs, then put the door in and drill a hole in the
2x4 on the floor, then run the wire on the basement joists, instead of thru the studs. There are lots
of extra feet, i may have to cut some off.
 
  #4  
Old 03-17-06, 05:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Don't cut until you are done routing the wire. Assuming the cable is stapled to the studs and joists, you won't be able to pull it until you remove the staples. Be careful removing the staples so you don; damage the cable.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes