Can I use AWG 14 wire for the bathroom? Please help?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-19-06, 02:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 67
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I use AWG 14 wire for the bathroom? Please help?

I am rewiring the bath and it will have it's own dedicated circuit. Only 1 outlet and 2 lights/fan.

Box to switch to fan/light and switch to vanity light then to a GFCI.

Thanks,
Jay
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-19-06, 03:17 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,416
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
If this circuit is on a 15 amp breaker, you should use 14 awg. It would not be a code violation to use 12 awg, but it can lead to confusion down the road and I advise against it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-06, 03:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In the US bathrooms must be on 20 amp circuits. This means 12 gage wire.
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-06, 03:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So the answer to the title question is "no" if you live in the United States.
 
  #5  
Old 03-19-06, 04:02 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just to clarify, plus I know someone else will surely post this if I don't.
Only bathroom receptacles must be on a 20 amp circuit.
You can share receptacles and lighting on this 20 amp circuit, but in that case the circuit MUST be isolated to just that one bathroom.
 
  #6  
Old 03-19-06, 06:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 67
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks all.
Already wired it with 14 but easy to fix. No connections yet.
The code is a little confusing in the sense that it makes me think you can use 14 wire as long as it does not go to any other rooms.

I'll use the 12.

Thanks again! Great people here!!!!
 
  #7  
Old 03-19-06, 06:47 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can leave what you have and just run a 12/2 to the receptacle if you like. That would be easier than rewiring the whole bath.
 
  #8  
Old 03-19-06, 07:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Note that the 12-2 that Speedy is talking about that you could add for the receptacle must come from the panel and a 20 amp breaker.
 
  #9  
Old 03-19-06, 07:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am in the process of finishing my basement and have planned to use a seperate 20 amp breaker for the bathroom. But something I found funny was I was checking out my fuse box and I cannot see seperate breakers for the bathrooms upstairs. How can this be if it is code for bathrooms to be on their own seperate breakers. I have two bathrooms upstairs and the only breakers I have besides the kitchen, washer, dryer, etc.. is great room, master bedroom, bedroom 1, and bedroom 2. When I get around to it I am going to take turns shutting off breakers to see which ones the bathrooms are on. Anyway just a little story to share.
 
  #10  
Old 03-19-06, 08:01 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
More than one bathroom's receptacles can be on one 20 amp breaker, as long as the first bath in line has GFCI protection, an downline baths are wired on the load side of that GFCI. Lighting must be on a separate circuit.
 
  #11  
Old 03-19-06, 09:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Burk, your existing situation is different than the situation presented by jaybird, so different codes apply. Not only does the code offer multiple options, it changes from year to year. You drew the wrong inference about the code from this thread.

Go ahead with your plan for a separate 20-amp circuit for your basement bathroom. That will meet code. But that doesn't mean that it's the only way to meet code.
 
  #12  
Old 03-20-06, 01:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 67
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
previously the house had the 2nd floor bath on the same circuit as both 2nd floor bedrooms. All aluminum 12/2 on a 20 amp.

So I feel like any direction is safer than what I previously had on my 2nd floor.

I'll be going 12/2 from the circuit to the switch/ fan to switch/light to GFCI.
Jay
 
  #13  
Old 03-20-06, 07:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
previously the house had the 2nd floor bath on the same circuit as both 2nd floor bedrooms. All aluminum 12/2 on a 20 amp.

QUOI ??? [ what ?? ] all aluminum 12 gauge with 20 amp breaker i hope you are joking on this one.

the alum wire are very touch item and honestly most electricican personally hate this part because it kinda pain in the butt with this one.

the correct overcurrent device [ breaker or fuse ] with #12 alum is 15 AMPSso let you know it ahead of time before you get too far with it.

the other part is the device like repecticale and switches if you really have alum wires you must buy specal switch or repteicale marked AL/CU rating it will have specal color screw on it.

if not sure about this please do get a electrician to help you to do the safe way

Merci, Marc
 
  #14  
Old 03-22-06, 03:40 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by burk7030
something I found funny was I was checking out my fuse box and I cannot see separate breakers for the bathrooms upstairs.
How can this be if it is code for bathrooms to be on their own separate breakers.
Because this is a relatively recent change to the NEC that was made after your fuse box was wired for the upstairs.

You need to follow the current Code for everything that you update or that you are required to retrofit.
 
  #15  
Old 03-23-06, 02:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 67
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks all.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: