Dividing 220v circuit into two 110v circuits.

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-20-06, 02:29 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dividing 220v circuit into two 110v circuits.

I'm converting my cooktop from electric to gas. I have cut and shut off the 220v connection to the former cooktop. The circuit has 3 wires. Two hots, red and black; and a neutral - white. No ground. #10 gauge wire. What I want to know is... How can I split the circuit into two 110v lines? I want to dedicate one 110 circuit to a new microwave, and use the other one for the minor needs of the new gas cooktop and some other light fixtures. The circuit currently has two 40 amp breakers tied together. Would they be replace by two 15 amps?? 20 amps?? Can I leave the existing wiring and make new connections for the 110 lines?? 12/2 wire?? 12/3?? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-20-06, 02:31 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can't. With no ground you can't make new circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 03-20-06, 02:36 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply

Originally Posted by racraft
You can't. With no ground you can't make new circuits.
What can I do to establish a ground??
 
  #4  
Old 03-20-06, 02:52 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You could run a grounding wire all the way back to the panel, but I'd recommend instead running a new 12/3 (or two runs of 12/2) from the panel to the kitchen. The latter probably isn't much harder than the former. Whichever you do, don't forget to change the breaker down to 20 amps.
 
  #5  
Old 03-20-06, 07:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Just curious. If he decided on only one circuit could the red wire be "redesignated" a ground with green tape?
 
  #6  
Old 03-20-06, 07:25 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No. The ground must be bare or green.
 
  #7  
Old 03-20-06, 08:32 PM
L
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OR "REDESIGNATED", TAPED GREEN. Sounds like you are down to one (1) ckt.. Size extended ckt accordingly. RE-FUSE to MEET the new designation, IE: 15 amp/ 14 GAGE wire----/20 AMP.12 gage wire.
You are limited to one (1) 120VAC ckt. Case being 1- hot black, Neutral-white, and red TAPED GREEN.
NO, IF'S ands or buts!!! WIRE AND FUSE ACCORDINGLY!!!!!!! OK?

If unsure....... POST BACK>

Mr. Nelson has the best Idea.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: