240v Welder, Air compressor, GFCI?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-20-06, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Greeley, Colorado
Posts: 135
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
240v Welder, Air compressor, GFCI?

In a detached garage, do the receptacles for a 240v plug-in welder and a 240v plug-in air compressor need to be GFCI protected, like the other general purpose receptacles?

Do they make 240v GFCI outlet receptacles? If not, would those receptacles need
to be protected by GFCI breakers?

If the compressor was hard wired, would it need GFCI protection?

Thanky!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-20-06, 06:46 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NO to every question.
 
  #3  
Old 03-20-06, 06:55 PM
Whitey55
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
They made GFI breakers for 240 V appliances. I dont believe the 240 volt applance would need to be GFI but it wouldnt hurt. The directed wired air compressor wouldnt, but any 115v receptacle would be required to be GFI.
 
  #4  
Old 03-21-06, 10:25 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by Whitey55
I dont believe the 240 volt applance would need to be GFI but it wouldnt hurt.
GFCI protection is neither required nor desirable on large motors or welders. The start up of the motor will cause false trips and ruin the GFCI breaker. Dedicated appliance circuits do not require GFCI protection unless the manufacturer of the appliance specifies GFCI protection in the installation manual.
 
  #5  
Old 03-21-06, 06:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there are very few stuff that required 240 volt GFCI useally found in pressure washer but not too wide spread due the motor starting surge and current pulseation can wreack hovac with gfci devices.

but the best bet is check with the manufacter to see the spec if they requred or not.

i work on alot of air commpressor and it is very rare for 240v and higher commpressor requried GFCI due the starting surge and load cycling but it might change in future i really can't say it will must have it but some area might requried but most area it will be ok. { check with your local inspector for local code issue there }

Merci , Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: