first time wiring job

Old 03-21-06, 04:43 PM
first time wiring job

hello eveyone i'm new to this wiring stuff so try and hang in their with me.

I want to replace 3 light fixtures in my basement with recptacles. Can i do this easily ?

Right now I have 5 lights on the same circuit which is a 20 amp circuit. as of now all lights are just regular lightbulbs (60 Watt).

I want to install three recptacles in the place of 3 fixtures so I can put 3 600 max watt lights in their
place. Just wanted to know if the circuit can handle that and if i can just switch the wires from fixtures to the recptacles instead.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-06, 05:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
1st: Why do you want to go that route? You have options, depending on the status of your basement. Would it not be as simple (with guidance) to install a switch and hard wire the new lights?

A few things we need......... Finished basement? Lights now, on pull chains? What is the space going to be used for? A little more info and we could hook you up.

Old 03-21-06, 06:02 PM
In response to your post i didnt know i could hard wire the lights in. If thats a better way its fine with me.
also, no my basement is not finished and as of now only one of my lights has a pull chain but, the lights i want to install do have pull chains. All 5 lights on this circuit right now are all turned off and on with one light switch.

Thanks again.

Old 03-21-06, 06:28 PM
Now were getting somewhere. What type of lights are you considering, Incandesants, flourescents, quartz etc......?

Old 03-21-06, 06:31 PM
i want to add this in here in most unfinished basement the lumiaire[s] are wired in parallel set up so all the light go on the same time but you want to add a pull chain socket if so you can control it as long the light is on.