Sub Panel Location Questions??

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-22-06, 11:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 24
Sub Panel Location Questions??

Hello All,

I was in the process of adding a dishwasher in my kitchen and a dedicated outlet for the refrigerator. In the process I realized that I was out of spaces in the Sub-panel. The sub panel (Seimens 100 Amp 12/24) was upgraded just a year ago by the previous owners when the service was upgraded to 200 Amps.

I believe one way I can add the additional connections is by adding a separate sub-panel (Donít want to tear up the dry wall again and also I would have to cut part of a stud to accommodate a bigger box). I was wondering if I can add a sub-panel in my crawlspace which can than have breakers for my AC/Water (Water heater is in the crawl space). That would free up quite a few slots in the original sub panel.

My Question is: As per code can I have a sub panel in the crawl space. Most of my crawlspace is walkable. Appreciate any info/comments/suggestions. Thanks.

/S
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-22-06, 11:39 AM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Originally Posted by sshel
I realized that I was out of spaces in the Sub-panel. The sub panel (Seimens 100 Amp 12/24) was upgraded just a year ago
That's how it goes.
Most panels installed are too small from the first day.

No one ever wants to spend to money to leave room for the future and/or they imagine that no one could ever need another circuit.

$20 more for the 30/40 space panel just seemed like a total waste.


> I believe one way I can add the additional connections is by adding a
> separate sub-panel
> (Don’t want to tear up the dry wall again and also I would have to cut part of
> a stud to accommodate a bigger box).

I don't know why you would have to cut a stud.

How are you going to connect a new sub?


> I was wondering whether I can add a sub-panel in my crawlspace which can then
> have breakers for my AC/Water (Water heater is in the crawl space).
> can I have a sub panel in the crawl space?
> Most of my crawlspace is walkable.

Not good enough, technically, especially if you have to duck.

You need a clear space three feet wide, three feet deep, and 6.5 feet high.

Do you have at least 6'?
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-06, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 24
Hello Bolide

That's what I thought too in the first place, when I checked the prices for the panels... The stud is already cut for the box to fit in (I guess this was done when they first installed the box.) or else theoritcally the stud could have passed through the center of the box. (Trying to be as clear as possible). I was planning on going off of the current sub panel (Any suggestions??).

The South side of the house is almost 7 to 7.5 ft high (Since The house is on a grade sloping from north --> South). Thanks for the info.

/S
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-06, 01:58 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
Originally Posted by sshel
The stud is already cut for the box to fit in
Well, it's not supporting much, so you could remove some more if you need to.

> I was planning on going off of the current sub panel (Any suggestions??).

It's better to pull from the main panel if at all possible.
Mainly I was wondering how you are going to avoid opening the drywall.


> The south side of the house is almost 7 to 7.5 ft high

Then you have sufficient headroom anywhere that you have 6.5 feet or more.

The space above the panel and nearby (3ft left-to-right and 3ft behind you as you work in the panel) must not have any other utilities or accouterments unrelated to the electrical system (pipes, ducts, shelves, hangers).
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-06, 08:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 24
Hello Bolide,

Technically makes sense, as the stud is not supporting much anyways. After this post I did check, that if I go this route, I can put Siemens 100 Amp 30/40 (Would have to cut 6 to 7 inches more) and still have 1 Sub Panel for the house.

I might go this route. Thanks for all your info and suggestions.

/S
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes