How many outlets per circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-06, 08:17 PM
Hooter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix "Its a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 128
How many outlets per circuit

I am wiring my remodel and have gotten conflicting info. I am using #12 but will use a 15A breaker. How many outlet can I have on a circuit??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-06, 08:42 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> How many outlets can I have on a circuit?

This is a house, right? How many do you like?

You should not put on more than will use 15A at any one time.
Since you have all #12 wire, why not change the breaker to 20A?
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-06, 08:51 PM
Hooter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix "Its a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 128
I could change to 20A. I have been told that the NEC has a limit on the number of boxes but cannot find it in the code book.
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-06, 08:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I have been told that the NEC has a limit on the number of boxes
You were told wrong. It happens a lot.

I think a lot of people would agree with bolide that since you are using all #12, you might as well use a 20-amp breaker. There is no good reason to use a 15-amp breaker.

The answer to your original question depends on what country you are in. Could you please put your location in your profile?

If you are working on a residence in the United States, in most areas you are allowed by code to put 873 outlets on this circuit, plus or minus a few hundred. One rule of thumb (but not a rule of code) is to limit yourself to no more than 8 on a 15-amp circuit and 10 on a 20-amp circuit. But this rule of thumb can be adjusted up or down according to your knowledge of what will be powered from this circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-06, 09:17 PM
Hooter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix "Its a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 128
Thanks John......It is in the US of A.... I had been using the 10 box rule but was told that 8 was max..... Thanks this has saved me alot of rework.......
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'