12-3 when all I need is 12-2

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-06, 09:21 PM
Hooter's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix "Its a dry heat" Arizona
Posts: 128
12-3 when all I need is 12-2

My friend helped me pull some wire and I now have 4 outlet boxes wired from box to box with 12-3. Since I only needed 12-2, the red is useless. Can I just ingnore the red (or cut it off or what) or will I be violating the code? I can re-pull if I need to.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-06, 09:40 PM
bolide's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 1,909
> Can I just ignore the red?
Yes. Fold it up out of the way.

Do not cut it off.
Most people say that you should put a wire nut over it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-06, 09:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Do anything you want with it except connect it. I'd probably just put a small wire nut on the end of each wire and push it to the back of the box.
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-06, 09:46 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,113
SAVE It. You never know when you need it. This is the only thing that you'll ever have, that when you need it..... It will be there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes