move wiring and add outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-06, 09:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
move wiring and add outlet

I had a range hood which was hard-wired into the wall behind it. I am replacing the hood and want to put in a range-top microwave. I need to move the wires up about a foot into a cabinet and put in an outlet. The range hood is gone but I cant tell which wire is which. I have a white wire (I assume neutral) and 2 black wires. How can I tell which wire is hot and which is ground?

Also, would it be easy enough to pull those wires up about a foot or do I need to extend the wires somehow? Can I use these wires for a standard outlet?

I've never done any wiring before, is this something I can do myself or do I need an electrician? Also, what tools/supplies would I need. Anything else I need to take into consideration? Sorry for all the questions, I just want to make sure I do this safely and correctly. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks in advance.

Jeremy
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-06, 09:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,945
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
A wall hung microwave instructions will call for a dedicated 15 or 20 amp circuit.

If you try to install this on the existing circuit you stand a very good chance of overloading it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-06, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That makes sense. I noticed that my fridge is on the same circuit, I'll call a professional. Thanks again for the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: