AC DC Power...

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-28-06, 02:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
AC DC Power...

I have a wireless router that i need to keep next to my phone line downstairs. It needs to be plugged in through AC to work. However, i do not have a plug socket near my phone. What is my sollution. I read about AC/DC adaptors. Would this be of any use?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-28-06, 04:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You have several options:

Move the router to a phone jack near a receptacle.

Install a receptacle near this phone jack.

Install a phone jack near a receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 03-28-06, 07:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Originally Posted by thoford75
I have a wireless router that i need to keep next to my phone line downstairs. It needs to be plugged in through AC to work. However, i do not have a plug socket near my phone. What is my sollution. I read about AC/DC adaptors. Would this be of any use?
Here's a little, ah, info on the topic. http://www.sandman.com/telco.html

But seriously, I've got my AC adapters for cordless phones and routers throughout the house hooked up to a UPS in the basement. It's a fair amount of work. The only concern with my situation would be interference between AC low voltage and DSL and data lines in the same conduit, but it hasn't been a problem for me. Some devices send DC only thru the adapter cord so in that case that would not be a concern.

1. Get a suitable length of 18 or 16 AWG (for most houses) wire, preferably shielded I suppose, but I didn't bother with that.

2. Run the new wire between the AC outlet location and the phone jack location.

3. (This step will probably void your warranty): Unplug your router power supply, note the cord polarity, and cut the cord right in the middle, give or take.

4. Buy connectors if you wish. That will make it easier to abandon this arrangement or swap equipment in the future.

5. Strip the wires, and connect the two wires on the transformer to the new wire. On the other end, connect the two wires from the mfgr's connector to the new wire.

6. Verify correct wiring, plug in and turn on.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'